Habitual

I’m definitely habitual with things like exercising and food choices. When I find something I like I usually hit it hard and often (in tribute to Mama Pea: that’s what she said). Like running. I’ve gone through phases where that’s all I want to do–and to my detriment. I wish I could run 50+ miles a week but my body always breaks down. I’ve been flirting with 30 miles lately. Somehow I set this limit of 30 and it’s getting tough to stick to it. But I’ve been dealing with some health issues that may have gotten worse because of the running so I’ve been trying to be “good” and find some balance with yoga and weights and pilates. But running is definitely my go-to when I’m stressed. Which is usually how I roll (though working on that).

What’s not habitual is this blog. And I’d like it to be. Not because I think anyone will even read this. But more for my own sanity. I was an English major in college and used to love to write. Since grad school though, I haven’t felt like it–no time, too tired, blah blah blah. But I’m going to try to write here at least a couple of days a week.

All week long I’ve felt a cold coming on. I have a terrible immune system. Hubs has an awesome immune system–but this time, he’s the one down for the count. Poor guy, he had to go to the Bay Area yesterday through today for business meetings with a stuffy congested head. Does anyone else find that when guys get sick they immediately turn into little babies? Mine does. Totally unlike him otherwise. It’s sort of cute, though.

This morning, I woke up ready to go and did a pretty intense 30 minutes of weights. Then I had some of this:

2% fage with chia seeds, raspberries, craisins and cinnamon.

Lunch was my usual so no pic:
roasted kabocha, avocado, balsamic mustard, roasted parsnips, aspargus, eggplant and zucchini (I make a bunch on Sunday for the whole week) and celery. And of course, an apple. My name is Stephanie and I’m an apple addict. Seriously.

I’m planning on either walking with my little sis today or doing some ellipticalizing for cardio and maybe a little bit of yoga to get the kinks out. I sit a lot in my job and by the end of the week my back is wrecked.

Not sure what to make for dinner. We’ll see what the boys are in the mood for. Tomorrow morning I have a conference from 9a-4p. Boo for waking up early on Saturday. But I will so I can get my run in…I can’t help myself.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Habitual

  1. I hope you aren’t getting sick 😦 I swear I started taking glutamine 3 years ago and haven’t been sick since.

    I bought a parsnips yesterday 🙂 I’ll let you know what I think about it!!

    I woke up at 5a yesterday…i’m back to my old self finally I thinnk.

    • I think I’ll have to try the glutamine. How much do you take? I’ve been doing 4000 IU of vitamin D lately and I think that is helping me.
      I hope you like the parsnips!
      And I’m so glad to hear that you are feeling back to normal.
      Hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

