Indulgent

Last night we started the celebration earlier than usual with some champagne while we were cooking. This was my first mistake. More on that later.

We decided that this $30 bottle was just as good as some of the $8 and $12 bottles we’ve had in the past. We break open a bottle of the bubbly whenever friends of ours get pregnant. We’ve tasted a lot of great champagnes over the years.

For our 13th dating anniversary, we decided to try out a new dish: polenta with a mushroom ragout.

We started with 3 cups of boiling water and 1 cup of polenta and the stirring began. Use a long wooden spoon because the polenta bubbles and burps everywhere.
I added a pinch of sea salt and some fresh ground pepper and kept stirring. When the polenta soaked up all the water, I added some stock little by little. Probably used close to a cup of stock. I also stirred in some
fresh thyme. After about 30 minutes of cooking time, the polenta was nice and thick and I stirred in about 1/4 cup of freshly grated parm.

While working on the polenta, I also sliced up about a half pound each of shitake and crimini mushrooms, minced a clove of garlic and thinly sliced a small white onion. Saute the garlic and onion until they are fragrant and the onion translucent, then add in the mushrooms for about 3-4 minutes. Once the mushrooms are getting soft, stir in 1 Tbsp flour to coat all the mushrooms. Once the flour is incorporated, slowly stir in 1/2 cup stock and 1/4 cup dry sherry. Let is hang out, stirring occasionally. When the sauce is thick, take off the heat.

To plate, I put about 1 cup of polenta in each bowl, drizzled a 1/4 tsp of rosemary oil, a pinch of truffle salt then the mushroom ragout on top.

Hubs grilled up a buffalo steak for himself and a salmon filet for me. He also found a lone tomato in our garden and he made a quick salad with the sliced tomato, mizuna lettuce, a sprinkling of dill seed and a quick vinagarette of lime juice, EVOO, salt and pepper.

We enjoyed the dinner with some Italian vino. I do not drink much and have a very low tolerance for alcohol and should have known better…hindsight my friends, hindsight. I ended up pretty toasty and laughing like a jackass. I guess we both did.

This morning was brutal. I’m taking a break from the hooch for a while to detox. Bring on the veggies and water. Guess what was waiting for me when I got home tonight?

How sweet is hubs? 13 flowers for 13 years.

What do you do to detox or get back on track after a night of indulgence?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Indulgent

  1. I ADORE polenta. Esp when you add cream cheese to it, to make it extra creamy. Mushrooms pair so well with polenta- brilliant choice!

Leave a Reply

