You Say Tomato, I Say Tomatillo

What a looooong week! You might remember that it started pretty rough on Monday. I was really feeling like this:

I can’t say that the week got much easier but I did wake up eventually. After getting a ton of sleep last night that included some wicked crazy vivid dreams, I am back to feeling like me. On top of it, I had a GREAT workout this morning, mostly because hubs came up with a new playlist.

Welcome To The Jungle 4:34 Guns N’ Roses
Du Hast 3:56 Rammstein
Superbeast (Girl On A Motercycle Mix) 3:52 Rob Zombie
Rock Is Dead 3:10 Marilyn Manson Mechanical Animals
Land of Confusion 4:49 Disturbed Ten Thousand Fists
Wherever I May Roam 6:44 Metallica Black Album
Head Like A Hole (Slate) 4:19 Nine Inch Nails Head Like A Hole
Iron Man 5:58 Black Sabbath We Sold Our Soul For Rock ‘N’ Roll
Amerika 3:47 Rammstein Reise, Reise
Slither 4:08 Velvet Revolver Contraband
Don’t Damn Me 5:19 Guns N’ Roses Use Your Illusion I Rock
No One Knows 4:39 Queens Of The Stone Age Songs For The Deaf
Testify 3:30 Rage Against The Machine The Battle Of Los Angeles
Bark At The Moon 4:17 Ozzy Osbourne The Ozzman Cometh
Fuel 4:30 Metallica ReLoad
In Bloom 4:15 Nirvana Nevermind
You Could Be Mine 5:44 Guns N’ Roses Use Your Illusion II
Sex Type Thing 3:39 Stone Temple Pilots Core
Closer 6:13 Nine Inch Nails The Downward Spiral
Paranoid 2:51 Black Sabbath We Sold Our Soul For Rock ‘N’ Roll

I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and about 35 minutes doing weights–today was legs and I rocked it! If you get energy from this kind of music and haven’t listened to Rammstein before, give them a try.
Hubs calls this playlist, “Raise a Ruckus in that Ass,” because of this. Season 7 of Curb was absolutely hilarious. But I digress….

Back to the tomatillo. A long while back, I read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver, and really wanted to work on eating more seasonally. We’ve done pretty well with one glaring exception: tomatoes in winter. I thought I couldn’t live without them. But finally this winter, the perfect storm of me not needing a salad every night for dinner (which, in turn, has always meant tomatoes were necessary) and knowing what a garden tomato tastes like, the hubs and I finally decided to put an end to it. But what would we do to replace it as an acidic component to our Taco Tuesdays?

Enter the tomatillo!

I took off the husk and washed it and decided to put it in our guacamole.

It turned out delicious! It’s got a nice crunch and has an acid component reminiscent of a lemon. And since they grow in cold weather, they are not out of season like my beloved tomatoes.

Tomatillo-laced Guacamole
1 avocado, mashed
1 tomatillo, diced
1 Tbsp onion, diced
1-2 Tbsp jalopeno (optional, but delicious)
1 Tbsp fresh cilantro
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
Mix, mash and taste–add more chili powder and salt if desired

We put it on our Eggs Bernedo last night and it was SO good!

The Eggs Bernedo recipe is a bit of a story and since this post is already too long, I’ll save it for another time. Let’s just say that eggs + chorizo + cheese = part-ay in my mouth. You might notice that I’m not a big meat-eater. This is one of the very few exceptions…..

What do you do to eat more seasonally and locally?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

