Bad Belly Blues

It’s been just about 9 months exactly since my last stomach episode. Let’s just call it that–to go into depth would be way TMI even for family probably.

The weekend was going along just fine. Saturday it rained in the morning and I turned into a cat and didn’t want to get wet, so I skipped my usual Saturday longish run and stayed in. I did a moderate workout with 30 mins on the elliptical and about 45 mins of weights. I’ve been trying to do more of the circuits that I see in Oxygen magazine and did a great upper body workout. You know it’s good stuff when you are sore for like 2 days.

Anyway, we had planned on going to see a play but the one I wanted to see was sold out. We decided since it was rainy, it was a good weekend for some movie watching. We watched Away We Go and A Serious Man. The Coen bros are so good. If you haven’t seen their newest, I think it’s worth the time spent to watch it. Away We Go was also good but for me it took quite a while to convince me that they were really a couple. We also got takeout from a new place. We split this salad:

The Original Bistro

Romaine and Field Greens, Roasted Butternut Squash, Basil, Pickled Cucumbers, Cranberries, Feta Cheese and Toasted Almonds, Tossed with Pomegranate Vinaigrette

And I ordered this:

Salmon

6 oz. Grilled Salmon Served with Side Salad and Daily Roasted Vegetables

The salad was delicious with the roasted butternut squash and the salmon not overcooked, which is rare. We’d definitely order from there again. BTW, hubs got this:

Reuben

Grilled Pizza Dough Topped with 1001 Dressing, Mozzarella Cheese, Shaved Pastrami, Sauerkraut, Caraway Seeds and Fresh Parsley

That’s right, a reuben pizza. I tried a bite and it was actually pretty tasty.

Sunday started great: I puttered around, read the paper for like 2 hours then went out and ran a good 9 miles out in the sun. The belly blues started when I got home. Yeesh. And Sunday was supposed to be my Soul-full day. I had a haircut set up for 2pm and then some shopping with my sister at BCBG and Anthropologie and finally, my absolute favorite thing, time spent shopping at Whole Foods (my love for grocery shopping is genetic–thanks, Dad!).

I don’t know how I made it through all of that but I did. I swear, I thought for sure I was going to barf all over at the salon. It went straight downhill from there. I did, however, manage to find a cute red shirt, a new pair of pants and a sundress for Hawaii at Anthropologie, thanks to my little sis. And I got all the way through Whole Foods and even got a few unlisted items; this is one of them.

Click here to buy Dark Chocolate Peanut Spread

God help me with this jar of loveliness! PB + dark chocolate = MAJOR t-r-o-u-b-l-e! We shall see.

Then I went down for the count. Hubs made me a grilled cheese sandwich for dinner and I sipped on Vernor’s and ate a bit of cherry jello. Then stayed up in pain all night long. Needless to say, work was totally brutal today but I made it through the day with the help my jello, ginger ale and some gum. I’m ready for a good night’s sleep and something yummy to eat when my belly is feeling normal again. Hopefully it will be more than 9 months when my bad belly makes its next appearance.

Tomorrow is a new day! Random side note: I keep writing Feb on everything; I can’t seem to get a handle on the fact that we are already in March.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bad Belly Blues

  1. If you ever need to spill your issues let me know 😉 I’m not easily grossed out.

    OMG, I would never buy that jar! I already know what would happen LOL!

    My dad always did the grocery shopping too.

  2. A Reuben pizza! Wow…that’s cool! I wonder how it looked like!

Leave a Reply

