Barely Legal Times Two

That’s right, I’m almost double “barely legal” age. Not quite but so, so close. I turned 34 yesterday around noon. My Dad is so cute. He sent me a ridiculous birthday e-card that made me laugh like a jackass. He also sent me my horoscope:
Things get very simple for you. You realize what you want to create and make it happen. Love is high on your list. April brings magical connections and romance. In June, the projects you touch turn to gold.
What a birthday horoscope! It’s so strange because hubs and I have been working on a business idea and may actually have someone to fund it. And love and romance is ALWAYS good!
Plus, according to the Detroit Free Press (the paper my Dad sent me my horoscope from), I share my birthday with these two ladies:

Laura Flynn Boyle


Alyson Hannigan


There are a couple more celebrity types, but these women are older than me and I couldn’t resist.

I look at my birthday as the start of my New Year. This has always made more sense to me than January 1. My New Year started out a bit rough but got progressively better as the day wore on.

I got out and ran a slllooooowww 8 miles and basked in the sun while doing it. I had a bit of work to do so I got that out of the way and then I treated myself and spent some quality time at WholeFoods. Yes, grocery shopping is something I consider to be fun and at times, exciting. I spent a bunch of money on things that I love to eat and some on things I’ve never tried before but grabbed spontaneously–organic produce, Maca, green tea matcha, agave nectar, Awake tea, almond milk, instant miso soup, vegan protein powder (chocolate and vanilla), a bacon chocolate bar for hubs, organic free range eggs, icelandic yogurt, Fage 2%, popcorn, goji berries, cereal and 4 or 5 kinds of espresso based stouts.

When I got home, I walked with my lil sister and we laughed and joked for a good 45 minutes–thanks, lady! By then the fog had really rolled in and it was pretty darn cold. That happens a fair amount where I live but I can’t complain.
I walked in the door to find two wooden, asian inspired looking small benches with our shoes under them. I’ve been wanting something like this FOREVER! They kind of look like mini stonehenges…sort of. If you’ve seen this movie, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Spinal Tap

Then I opened hubs’ next present for me.

St Peter's Cream Stout...aka: Black Gold


Black gold. We had it with dinner and it was delish. The trick with this kind of beer is to drink it at room temperature or even a tad warmer. It lived up to its name.

Grilled veggies, salmon and steak....yum!


For my birthday dinner, I chose grilled salmon and veggies. An oldie but definite goodie! The boys had some grass fed strip steak and wagyu steak. I tried a piece of each.

Wagyu and NY strip steaks for the boys


My b.i.l. was in town for his interview yesterday so it was fun to celebrate my bday and his interview. I hope he gets the job!! One more interview and it is his…fingers and toes crossed.

After dinner, I opened up two more presents:

A sonic care toothbrush. I’ve been wanting this toothbrush for quite some time but was waiting for my old school oral b to die and it just would not die.
And–

Paella pan


I cannot wait to try out my new paella pan. If you’ve never made paella, it is so easy (you don’t need the paella pan even) and hella good. I’ll post my recipe when I make it next week.

All in all, a great day to call my birthday. And tomorrow we leave for Colorado to hang out with my sis-in-law, the b.i.l. and hubs’ rents. Should be good times.

How old do you really feel?

Personally, I don’t feel older than 22, tops.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Barely Legal Times Two

  1. Dang old lady, Happy birthday đŸ™‚ j/k, i’m still older.

    I feel 25. I got carded yesterday! I was buying beer for Mike’s bosses birthday.

    I’ve never even heard of paelle…i’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

