Hockeytown, U.S.A.

I grew up in Hockeytown. Well, when I was young they hadn’t started calling Detroit that quite yet but hockey is a BIG deal in those parts. My family lived pretty darn close to Canada–about 30 minutes or so–and when I go home, I easily revert back to my midwest-slightly canadian-accent. What’s that aboot, eh? Funny, but we do say “eh” at the end of a lot of our sentences. Like, “what can you do, eh?”

Being from the Hockeytown area, spring is always a frenzied time. It’s playoff season. And Stanley Cup playoffs are INTENSE. I’m talking throwing the remote so hard on the floor that it breaks intense (poor hubs!).

TV remote...octopus, either way, throw something!!

When I met my husband back at Michigan, we had only been dating a little more than a month when the playoffs began. I’m sure he was pretty surprised to find he was dating a girl who didn’t have a problem knocking back a Bud Ice or two while yelling at the Wings to play some D!

Doo-be doobedoo...

My beloved Red Wings nearly missed the cut this year. That would have been so tragic. But they powered through and are playing Phoenix in the first round. Tonight is game 2. I’m not going to give game 1 another thought…but damn we should have won that game!

On tap tonight as a prelude to the game will be a tasty spicy tofu stir fry with purple sticky rice and most likely, some kind of stout to sip with it. I will tell you this: you cannot, should not, CANNOT, watch a playoff game without cracking open a beer–even if you don’t drink it. Best is a Canadian beer, but really, any beer will do. It has become a superstition in our house that if a beer is not opened, our team will not fare well. There is some kind of power in that beer can. I don’t know what but we have tried beer-less playoff games and they did not go well.

It’s probably not the best superstition considering the playoff games are on weekends and weeknights. I usually let the hubs take care of our beer contribution…and it’s too bad that hubs won’t let me take a picture of him in his special hockey playoff shirt. I’ll describe it, though: gray t-shirt with blue letters (MICHIGAN) and rips and holes everywhere. I mean, just ridiculous. But it usually works.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, eh?

Lord Stanley's sweet cup

Let’s Go Red Wings!!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hockeytown, U.S.A.

  1. eh? I say that a lot of times, too. lol, I would be so at home in hockeytown! (except I really don’t care much for hockey, but I shouldn’t say that out loud, eh?)

  2. Ahhh! I don’t even know where to begin! As you know, I’m from Michigan. But what you probably didn’t know is that at my mom’s we have the Stanley Cup championship banner hanging from the balcony this time of year, a replica cup/puck/signed picture shrine and even named our lawn gnomes after players a few years ago (they’re our good luck…don’t judge).

    I interned with the Griffins in GR and then the Wings for six months and was editorial asst. of the hardcover, “48 Hours with the Detroit Red Wings” and now have my own sports shrine/office in my house. This isn’t a bragging thing, but merely sharing in the love that is the winged wheel!

    Let the octopi fly!!!

Leave a Reply

