The Professionals

That’s right. Hubs and I are total pro’s. I’m sure you’re thinking: what kind of pro’s, pray tell? We are vacation professionals. Why this doesn’t count as some kind of specialty, I’m not sure. I do know this: we have this trip down to a total science to ensure 100% relaxation.

Wailea, Maui
8 days, 7 nights
The same condo near the beach–our 9th time in the complex (the first time was at a fancy hotel down the road for our honeymoon).
Average daily temp: 83 F
Average night sleep: 9 hours
Average daily reading time: 4 hours
Average number of books read: 5 (I brought the average down but not by much this time)
Best meal: tie between bbq opah fish and tofu stir fry with korean style short ribs
Best sunset: every night was unique
Best wine: Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc (coincidentally, also the cheapest wine we bought)
Movies watched: 2 (this is a record for us)
Days tennis played: 4 (also a record)
Morning runs: 3 (not a record)
Trips out besides to the grocery store or to tennis: 0 (definitely a record)
Bottles of sunscreen used: 2 1/2 spf 50
Flight upgrades: both ways(!?!?) (completely unheard of–usually in-bound only if we’re lucky)
Number of pineapples consumed: 2 (mostly by me–yum)

My only question besides why the heck did we come home: when will we go back? There is something about that place that feels like home to me. Every day smells like summer–grass clippings, flowers blooming, kids splashing in the pools/ocean and tons of humidity (which I don’t mind much).

Don’t get me wrong. There is something great about coming home, too. But that island is like a Siren for me I guess. She’s in my head and my heart with a wonderful song. Whenever we leave, I make the promise to come back.

Random:
Books I read:

This Wicked World, by Richard Lange (pulpy, easy read)
Night Work, by Thomas Glavinic (existential and suspensful end-of-the-world fiction)
Mr. America, by Mark Adams (The mastermind of the Physical Culture movement–not much has changed in over a hundred years)
The Great Perhaps, by Joe Meno (Little Miss Sunshine meets The Life Aquatic=silly, weird, poignant)
Wetlands, by Charlotte Roche (not for the faint of heart and also a strange book)
Started:
The Signal, by Ron Carlson (can already tell it’s beautifully written yet minimally verbose)

Pictures of the Pro’s:

Next up: Chili and BeerFest in Aspen, CO. Bubbles and beans? Sounds like trouble.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Professionals

  1. I’m so jealous! Hawaii is my dream vacation. We were going to go there for our 10th but someone got laid off.(me)

    I’m so glad you enjoyed yourself and if I were to be a pro at anything I would want to be a vacation pro 😀

Leave a Reply

