Zen Gardening

Most people who know me also know that I have what I like to call a “black thumb.” Hubs, thankfully, has two very skilled, very green thumbs to counteract this problem of mine. It has gotten so bad that I nearly killed my succulents. Talk about a sad state of affairs when you cannot even keep cacti alive.  Needless to say, I usually stay away from the garden and let hubs do the work. 

They're still alive!

Today was different, though. When he asked me if I wanted to help him with the garden and yard work, I actually wanted to and did. Talk about hard work. But good, solid work. I don’t know if I’ll ever be very good at it, but today was a start. 

Jasmine-scented backyard.

Hubs cut grass and did some weed wacking while I went on my run this morning. When I got home, I started working on skimming the pool while he was busy fixing a few of our trees (they have funky gansta leans some of them). We planted a few more pepper plants (something has already been eating our little seedlings!) and did massive amounts of weeding. There really is something meditative about working with plants and I think, being outside in general. Like you are really plugged in. 

Can't wait to taste the delicious tomatoes.

All in all, this has been a great long weekend. We made a delicious salad last night with raw corn, arugula, banana peppers, onion, mung bean sprouts, avocado, feta and some chopped up octopus sashimi. Hubs made a tasty vinagerette that tied all the flavas together. On the side were our faves: spicy green beans and oven fries. 

Spicy beans, sweet potato fries and salad

Salad with octopus, corn, homegrown sprouts and avocado.

After dinner, we finally made it outside for some firepit action. Hubs made some of his special truffle popcorn and we roasted marshmallows and basically made a popcorn ball thingy. I can’t eat too much of that kind of thing but it was delicious. 

Sittin' by the fire...

Tonight we plan on making Bi Bim Bap with the usual suspects. Hubs is going to make some Korean bbq with short ribs and wait for it…thinly sliced beef tongue. Don’t wrinkle your nose–just try it. Even my parents like it and they are not even close to adventurous eaters (no offense!). Cooked correctly, it melts in your mouth. 

The only bummer this weekend was house hunting. 5 1/2 hours in the car is not too much fun. Especially if the houses aren’t really close to what you are looking for. We put an offer on the house we really love but they went with a higher bid (duh, I guess). So we’ll keep looking. My sister is moving down to Laguna in 2 weeks. I was hoping to be down there soon, too, but you can’t rush house buying. Not even in this market I guess. 

It’s rare that I feel rested enough to start a week but today I do. Maybe it’s from the gardening? It’s also finally feeling like summer around here which is always very exciting for me. Bring on the days of sunshine!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Zen Gardening

  1. I also have a black thumb. I am hoping it was just our mound of gravel etc…that our house was on last time. Now we have lots of good dirt to play in 🙂 I’ve got my morning glories soaking and i’m going to plant them tomorrow.

    I have 2 hanging plants on my porch and they looked almost dead last week until I watered them. Who knew that like us they just need water LOL!

    House hunting is fun but tiresome.

Leave a Reply

