Good Vibrations

According to Wikipedia:

Good Vibrations” is a psychedelic pop song by American rock group The Beach Boys. Composed and produced by Brian Wilson, the song’s lyrics were written by Wilson and Mike Love.

Released as a single on October 10, 1966 (backed with the Pet Sounds instrumental “Let’s Go Away For Awhile”), it was The Beach Boy’s third U.S. number-one hit, reaching the top of the Billboard Hot 100 chart in December 1966, as well as being their first British chart-topper. Initiated during the sessions for the Pet Sounds album, it was not taken from or issued as a lead single for an album, but as a stand-alone single, and later placed on the album Smiley Smile eleven months after its release.

Wilson’s publicist Derek Taylor described “Good Vibrations” as a “pocket symphony”. It featured instruments unusual for a pop song, including prominent use of the cello and an electro-theremin. It is number six on Rolling Stone‘s list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”.[1] The song “Good Vibrations” is part of the The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll list.[2]

Whenever I think of the Beach Boys, I remember this water park we used to go to as kids, called Four Bears. The water slides were good (though nothing like Soak City at Cedar Point) but what I remember the most is that the only music (as far as I can remember–which ain’t too far) they played was the Beach Boys. I think my California dreamin’ days probably started then.

Of course, when one thinks of California, or maybe, more specifically, Los Angeles, you might think about the very eccentric people who may live here (and lord, there are SO many freaky freaks). Here’s one example (of many).

So you may have heard or tried the new thing in water: Alkalinized water. Basically, the water is purified by the usual route but then the minerals that were taken along with the “purification” process are put back in using things like freshwater pearls. The pH of the water is high–usually between 9-10. The theory is that the body runs better, heals better, etc. when not in an acidic environment. Alegedly, the higher pH of the water has multiple healing properties. Some people have dedicated their lives to waxing poetic (and selling) about the stuff.

A colleague at work referred us to this place. But let me be clear–she referred us because the water tastes delicious. It really does–she let me try some. So last weekend we decided to check it out and maybe get some to try. We’ve been getting Arrowhead water for years and to be honest, there is a kind of chemical taste to it that I don’t like (forget about the tap water here by the way–YUCK!).

We walk into this small corner shop in Santa Monica to be greeted by a woman in a flowy sundress, hair swept up, jewelry adorning her entire body: “Welcome Kinder!! Come in, come in!” Apparently, her name is “Le Joy.” [I’m serious]. She is joyful–I’ll give her that much. She hands us some glasses of the water, asks us our names and starts her spiel:

“Now, Boo,” she says to me, “do you like the water?” Yes I tell her. She looks at hubs, “Schatzi–what do you think? It’s good, right?” At this point, I’m quite sure we are both looking at her, saucer-eyed, wondering, what in the hell?!? We play along though and she tells us that alkaline water has cured her friend’s cancer [apparently, cancer cannot live in an alkaline environment…hm…] and helped to heal many of her customers. “Kinder–come in the filtration room. I have something special to show you both.”

We go into this cramped room with several large blue tanks, presumably filled with water and wedge ourselves next to one tank. “Schatzi [me, I think]–are you familiar with vibrational energy?” I actually am so I shake my head yes. She looks at hubs, “Boo, each of these tanks is blessed with the energy of the world’s many Saints and Gods.” She points to the tanks. There are tattered pieces of paper all over the tanks with pictures of Buddha, the hugging Saint, Jesus, sacred words as well as special messages that customers have written about their experience in health with this water.

Good vibrations indeed. Of course I get the lyrics stuck in my head:

“I, I love the colorful clothes she wears
And the way the sunlight plays upon her hair
I hear the sound of a gentle word
On the wind that lifts her perfume through the air”

She gave us a free 5 gallon bottle of the stuff and we were off. I must say, it is quite delicious. I’m not sure if my health is any better but I’ll let you know. If Le Joy and her special alkalinized vibrational water can make me healthy, I will try it. Hell, I’ve tried stranger things to be honest. And we all gotta drink water. Why not blessed water?

Good Good Good Good Vibrations….

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Good Vibrations

  1. Water that cures cancer? I’m a bit incredulous, but I did hear and believe that water has healing properties…and every water is different. My brother can always taste the difference in certain waters, but honestly I can’t even tell! >__<

  2. Pingback: Love Potion No. 14 | The Foodbin

Leave a Reply

