Mice Will Play

Hubs used to work for a place that had an annual Mice Will Play day. That was the day that all of the high up muckety-mucks would take off for their annual retreat and leave the lowlings to hold down the fort. And every year, without fail, the fort was held down until approximately noon and then the playing began. I think one year they came up with some kind of indoor mini-golf tournament in the office to kick-start the fun. 

The coup de grace, though, was always the lunch that they took. It started with some drinks in the office bar (yeah, you heard me–a bar in the office…) and then the party moved to some ridiculously swank Beverly Hills restaurant where they would commence an afternoon orgy of eating and drinking.  This was some serious part-ay. Most times, hubs would have to take a cab home that night when all was said and done. 

Of course, this “lunch” was expensed. And the mucks, I guess, were ok to pay for these 4 digit excursions–probably because that was nothing compared to what they were doing in places like Santa Barbara or Ojai. 

Which brings me to today. Cat’s away–or rather, as his friends call him, The Dog–so I’m holdin’ down the fort. Hubs had to fly cross-country today for work. We did, however, get to play before he left. 

Rolling in style in my new tennis skirt

Tennis, that is. What did you think I was referring to?… 

We smacked around the ball this morning for a good hour. I think tennis is one of the best stress relievers around. Plus I had to bone up on my skills before our trip home because my Mom is going to kick my ass around the court. She’s that good. 

The rest of the day will be my version of playing: some girly time painting my nails

I wish my feet looked this good! The polish will be a similar color though.

Some dancing around the house while I get stuff ready for the week. And some major singing to some fun 80’s summer tunes like Boys of Summer, Drive, 8675309/Jenny, Josie’s on a Vacation Far Away, Summer of ’69…the list could go on. 

I may even get all crazy with the cheeze whiz and watch a Lifetime, for Women movie or two. I know, I’m outta control.   

There won’t be any high priced meals or excessive drinking. But bring on my guilty pleasures! 

How do you play?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Mice Will Play

  1. You’re too cute! I love playing. 🙂 Wish I had a companion to do my playing with, but for now I do things on my own! I like to do a little run, explore some museums/parks/restaurants, maybe kayaking or exploring a beach, baking, getting a massage or pedicure. Have fun. 🙂

  2. I love having time to myself. This is when I catch up on the housewives, do lots of working out, and hit Super Tarjay 🙂

    The other day I watched a Lifetime movie too LOL!

  3. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again: if I had legs like yours, I would never wear pants in my life. Rock on, sister.

    I have a lot of “me” time, what with no adoring husband, but it’s not always “play” time. For me, “play” time is getting my eyebrows waxed (I don’t know why, but it’s an instant confidence boost), walking around the botanical gardens and eating a pesto pizza while watching the game (no Lifetime for me). OK. Maybe I always watch the game, but my brows don’t always look stellar.

    Have fun!

    • I laughed out loud when I read the part about never wearing pants (I have a crazy imagination)…thanks for the kind compliment! Pesto pizza is one of my favorites too.

  4. Wow, an eating and drinking orgy, huh? Sounds fun, but only for the first few minutes until you are too drunk. I like to play with my laptop. Ah, the internet is full of fun things to read! If not, I like to curl up with a book. Or cook and eat good food 🙂

  5. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I am enjoying reading yours. I love playing tennis, but I am a terrible server so I only like to play with people who aren’t competitive. Hope your girly time is fun!

Leave a Reply

