A Boy Named Sue

TGIF everyone. This has been a very long week. My inital deep funk has turned lighter, into more like a superficial phunk at this point. This is my 11th summer in L.A. and by far the strangest, weather-wise. Very gloomy, cool and far too rainy (it’s all relative). Our garden doesn’t seem to mind and by extension, it’s been a nice change of pace for me on most days.

Hubs has been doing a great job at trying to cheer me up a bit and I have to say that yesterday I could feel a turning point happen. My day was a usual day. Thursdays I work in what I like to call my refrigerated prison cell: the thermostat must be around 55 and there are no windows at all in this now converted warehouse. I’m talking major florescent lighting, my friends. This is not only quite a bummer but also very disorienting for me. It could be morning or night, summer or winter and who would know? Not me.

Anyway, I did my job and trudged home. Somehow I managed a mini-walk around part of the neighborhood and a few minutes of yoga before it was time to make dinner. Hubs was in the mood for some homemade gazpacho with from our garden ingredients and some grilled cheese sammies. I said ok. I can’t say I was in the mood for much of anything.

The gazpacho actually turned out very tasty and I put in a few secret ingredients that aren’t usually found in this soup: I blended some jalapeno to add a kick and for the bottom of the bowl garnishes, I added some diced up tomatillo for tang. To toot my own horn, it was yummy.

Fresh gazpacho, truffle-pumped grilled chez and obligatory dipping mustard.

Hubs cooked up the grilled cheese with some sprouted grain bread, a little real butter and some mozzarella cheese. His secret ingredient: white truffle salt. My goodness me!

At some point during the meal, my taste buds clicked back in and I could feel my serotonin working again. Finally some real relief. And some laughing as hubs told me this story.

As you might know, a major trend lately has been eating from Food Trucks with different themes. Hubs’ office is close to the MTV studios so I think they tend to get a ton of trucks all in one location at lunchtime. He could eat at a different truck everyday if he wanted. Yesterday he picked to be what sounds like an Asian-fusion taco truck. He ordered 2 tacos and some meatballs. When they asked his name, as happens quite often, they heard his name as a different name so hubs shortened it to Lou (all names have been changed to protect the innocent).  Once that was cleared up, he then hung out in the massive crowd while he waited for his name to be called.

Strangely enough, they called, “Lou, meatballs,” and he went up and got part of his order. A few minutes later he heard, “Lou, 2 tacos.” Wow, he thought, how is my food ready so quickly? His friends were still waiting so he hung out with them. A good 15 minutes goes by and his friends are still waiting for their food when hubs again hears, “Lou, 2 tacos.” Hm. Then he sees this woman go up and ask where her tacos were as she had ordered them a long time ago. Hubs was watching the action not far away and figured out that he had snagged her tacos. Her name was Sue.

Sue. Lou. An honest mistake. But hubs has been sporting quite the facial bush lately and says to me, Did they really think I was Sue? With this giant beard?!

Bearded man with mini-boom box: my name's not Sue!

It made me think of this Jonny Cash song:

My daddy left home when I was three
And he didn’t leave much to ma and me
Just this old guitar and an empty bottle of booze
Now, I don’t blame him cause he ran and hid
But the meanest thing that he ever did
Was before he left, he went and named me sue

The lyrics to this song are pretty funny. It felt good to enjoy a laugh last night.

Now Yogi says:

The universe is a stage. Your mind dances with your body, guided by your heart.

Now that my head is plugged back into my body, it’s time to dance.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Boy Named Sue

  1. So I CANNOT wait to return to LA…but rainy?! Seriously?! WHY?! Why oh why is the weather there crap when I finally move there to escape the bad weather in the east coast? Sigh.

    and OMG. Hilarious story about your hubby! Lol! I can’t ever imagine him as Sue! Of all the names! Sue! Wahahah!

Leave a Reply

