Mission: Impossible

We got to experience the real bummer about Los Angeles today. After having a nice, leisurely morning filled with cornmeal pancakes, the newspaper then slappin’ the tennis ball around, we had a quick lunch and got in the car and pointed it south. Funny thing, too, because we left the house on time. Unheard of! 

We get onto the 405 South and it is a real parking lot. I could walk faster. I text my sister to find out what the heck is going on here and she says there is a nasty Sig Alert not more than 4 miles from where we sat, burning gas and time. So we make the decision to bypass the accident. Oy. It takes a good 30 minutes to maneuver around to get back on the freeway and surprise: it is still total ass. And we were past the accident. So I called our realtor and told her that instead of making it at 2:30 like we had planned, it would be closer to 4:00 or later. 

And she said something that I want to remember: Don’t worry about it. Your quality of life is more important than this. Go home and enjoy the rest of your weekend and we’ll see you next weekend. 

So we did. I’m glad to not be sitting in that car on the freeway watching the minutes pass me by. But then it becomes, how will I fill up the rest of my day? I’m sure I’ll manage. 

We’ve had some good eats this weekend. They initially felt like Mission: Impossible as well, but we managed. 

Friday night I tried my hand at making poached eggs for our salads. Let’s just say it looks WAY easier than what it is. I mean, sure, I poached them, but they were not in any way like those pretty little white pillows that you get in a restaurant. See how ridiculous I am? I am not a chef. I don’t know why I expect perfection the first go around. Hubs assured me that it would taste just fine and it did. I made some tasty truffle fries for the side and we called it a meal. 

Salad with poached egg and sweet potato fries. Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand.

 

Yesterday we did our weekly grocery shopping and decided to deplete all of our funds in one shopping trip to kill all of our birds with a single stone by going to Wholefoods. [I could live there.] Anyway, we got inspired to cook dinner that night instead of ordering take-out and got some wild caught halibut, a buffalo steak, corn and artichokes for some tasty summer grillin’. We haven’t had artichokes since last summer. 

Big summer grillin' with buffalo steak, halibut and artichokes

 

We even busted out our “fancy” dinner plates. You know, the ones that are not made of plastic and from Target? 

Garden summer meal: corn, cherry tomatoes, sliced cuke with bites of halibut and buffalo. Slice of olive bread on the side. Dish of spicy aoili.

 

I made a spicy aoili to go with the ‘chokes. Really the ‘chokes are just a vehicle used to get the aoili in my mouth. How do you make an aoili? Thought you’d never ask. 

Spicy Aoili 

1 egg yolk 

1 tsp dijon mustard 

a few squirts of Tabasco 

2 tsp lemon juice (I also added in some zest for extra brightness) 

clove of garlic, minced or put through the garlic press 

1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/2 tsp paprika, salt and pepper 

EVOO 

I put everything but the oil in bowl and whisk that together. Then slowly stream in EVOO until you get a consistency that you like. I don’t feel the need to add 3/4 cup of oil. Frankly, that freaks me out. I think I may have used a couple of Tbsps, max. It was still very tasty. 

All bets are off for dinner tonight. I’m a planner and had planned on whipping up something real quick when we got home from house hunting. But now that we have more time…we shall see what we have and what inspires me. 

Yogi says: 

Your life is based on the capacity of energy in you, not outside of you. 

My container has not been full lately but the capacity is there, thankfully.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mission: Impossible

  1. I have only been to LA twice, but both times I almost ended my life out of sheer frustration on the 405. Artichokes are my favorite food in the whole entire world. Looking at yours is making me want to scuk it up and spend the $3 they are each on this side of the country. Oh, and I think your attempt at topping a salad with a poached egg looks nearly perfect.

Leave a Reply

