Winner, Winner…Buffalo Dinner

There were lots of “winners” in my world this week. 

Winner #1: I broke up with my Garmin. Well, not completely. But ever since I bought it, I’ve been hooked on its crack-like features of measuring everything. So to break the cycle, I got an $11 pink sports watch from Amazon and I can’t tell you how freeing it is not know how fast or how far I’ve gone or how many calories I’ve burned. For right now, I don’t care. It’s reminding me why I love to run. It’s wonderful to have that monkey off my back. 

 

Winner #2: I broke up with my part-time job that I’ve been hanging onto now for a while as a crutch, worried that if I put all of my energy into my other part-time job that I’d fail miserably. The entire staff doesn’t know yet (though I imagine there are some rumors circulating), as it will be announced at our monthly staff meeting on Thursday. It’s wonderful to have that monkey climbing off my back. 

Winner #3: You may remember I attempted and made some very pathetic looking poached eggs last week. This week, we changed it up and instead made soft-boiled eggs. They turned out beautifully and worked just as well with the salad. Bonus: I finally got to use the sweet little egg holders I bought at Anthropologie like 2 years ago (they were on sale–of course). 

Soft boiled egg in a little egg holder--look at the chicken feet!

[That’s a strange looking picture–to me it looks like a duck sort of. ] 

Winner #4: I finally got to hang with my little sis since she moved an hour away 6 weeks ago. We did an old-school style walk in my neighborhood and bitched for a good hour. It was awesome. Bonus: Not only was it Friday, but it was also finally sunny and summer-like. Too bad I already miss her again…man was I spoiled before. 

Winner #5: We did not get stuck in traffic on the 405 yesterday. Bonus: we saw several homes that could be perfect for us. If I’m going to give up a weekend day, I love feeling like it wasn’t wasted. 

Winner #6: We watched the movie, A Prophet. If you haven’t seen this movie, I highly recommend it. You might remember that it was up for a bunch of awards this past season. It is gritty and dirty, violent at times, but somehow, the main character stays somewhat likeable. If nothing else, watch it to hear the final song of the movie. Mack the Knife never sounded so f’d up. Seriously. 

Remember McDonald's version of this? The movie's version is even freakier.

Winner #7: I am learning how to brew my own beer. Stay tuned. Should be a doozy. 

Buffalo Dinner: yesterday morning before we left to house hunt, I could not push myself out the door for yet another run in the foggy mist so I flaked out a did the elliptical and some weights. While I was on the elliptical, I was (as usual) reading a magazine and turned the page. Staring me in the face was a piece of grilled filet mignon. I am not a big fan of meat in general, but for some reason I was in the mood. So we stopped at WholeFoods on the way home from hunting and got the fixin’s for this meal: 

Medium rare buffalo steak and a cornucopia of grilled veggies.

Did I mention that we didn’t really have lunch yesterday because of the house hunting? So I also made this: 

Cukes, tomatoes, onion, parsley, lemon zest and feta with a lemony dressing

And this: 

Rutabaga oven fries and curried ketchup.

And I ate every last bite of it. 

If you are anything like me, then you are a “dipper.” You know, you enjoy dipping most of your food products into some kind of sauce. My faves tend to be various mustards, but last night I was in an experimenting kind of mood and made a curried ketchup. 

Curried Ketchup 

Melt a tsp of butter in a saucepan with some minced garlic on a low heat. Add in 1/2 cup of ketchup (I used unsweetened organic–I know, how fancy of me) and several generous shakes of Tabasco sauce if you likey the spice (I do). Add in about 1/2 tsp ground  cumin and 1/4 tsp of ground turmeric (or curry powder). Stir it all up and you got yourself some tasty smoky spicy tricked-out ketchup. 

What was your winner or dinner or both this week?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Winner, Winner…Buffalo Dinner

  1. I had a winner similar to yours. I had my HRM on and had done step aerobics for 10 mins only burning 55 calories. It sort of P’d me off. I took the thing off and enjoyed the rest of my heart thumping sweaty workout. Who cares how many calories I burned. I’m not eating Bic Macs.

    I’m a dipper too!

  2. i love your egg holder!!!!! ive been wanting some but keep forgetting to look for them. ill check anthro for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

