Feelin’ Hella Good

Sorry. I got this song stuck in my head just now. I went from zero to 100mph this afternoon when my co-workers decided they wanted to treat me to a special drink (unfortunately, not that kind of drink). 

Boba. Please tell me you've experienced this deliciousness.

 

My co-workers went on a boba run and they wanted to get me one, too. I would usually say, no thanks, and let it be the end of it. But I have only one more day left in this office and it is considered very rude to say no in this situation. 

[Side bar: this office is run by and devoted to serving the Asian community. So when I say that would be rude, I’m not kidding.] 

If you haven’t had boba, here’s the wiki summary: 

Pearl Milk Tea is a sweetly flavored tea beverage invented in Taiwan. Drink recipes may vary, but most bubble teas contain a tea base mixed with fruit (or fruit syrup) and/or milk. Ice blended versions of the drink are also available, usually in fruit flavors. Bubble teas may contain small tapioca balls or pearls called “boba”. Pearls made of jelly are also available in many places. These teas are shaken to mix the ingredients, creating a foam on the top of some varieties, hence the name. 

Bubble tea originated in Taiwan in the 1980s, first spread to nearby East Asian countries, migrated to Canada before spreading to Chinatowns throughout the United States, and then to various college towns along the West Coast.[1] 

There are many variants of the drink, depending on types of tea used and ingredients added. The most popular kinds are “bubble black tea” (traditional Chinese: 泡沫紅茶; pinyin: pào mò hóng chá; literally “froth red tea”), “bubble green tea” (traditional Chinese: 泡沫綠茶; pinyin: pào mò lǜ chá), and “pearl milk tea” (traditional Chinese: 珍珠奶茶; pinyin: zhen zhu nǎi chá). 

I had them get me one of whatever they were having. They came back with a green tea almond milk boba. Oh. Crickey. I haven’t had such a sugar rush in ages. I can’t believe I used to be able to pound bags of candy corn for dinner (I know, yuck! but back then it was all yum, all the time) and think nothing of it. But in my enlightened, cleaner eating state, any amount of raw or refined sugar makes me feel like I’ve injected myself with steroids. Sadly, I couldn’t even finish the darn thing. 

Ok, not quite this pumped up. That is amazing.

When I got home from work, I was still roaring to go. So instead of my usual Tuesday after work casual neighborhood walk, I hit up the elliptical and then the weights. Wow. I think my body is still humming along from that steroid tapioca deliciousness. 

Yogi is ironic today: 

Live in your strength. (even if it is sometimes aided by little balls of tapioca) 

T minus one day and counting. Thursday should be strange and sad and interesting. All at the same time.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Feelin’ Hella Good

  1. I love your sugar rush! When I have one it means I WAY overdid it and can’t move and feel like puking. I will NOT do that after my comp this time. It takes WAY too long for me to get lean and i’m going to STAY that way this time 🙂

    I love tapioca!

    I haven’t had boba so i’m missing out.

  2. Ack, I totally know what you mean by sugar rush….56oz bag of peanut M&M’s will do that to you.

    Boba is not that bad, though! The starch in the pearls help round it out. Or am I just deluding myself?

Leave a Reply

