Hookie, Played

According to Urban Dictionary, playing hookie means:

A day in which liberty is taken upon oneself to exclude themself from school or work obligations while, most likely, pretending to be sick or having a death in the family. Usually this time is spent with a significant other (i.e. hookie for nookie), a sports activity (i.e. golf or playstation), or just plain sitting on ones ass all day editing & writing definintions for modern slang words over the internet. Commonly referred to as “playing hookie”.

When I was a kid, I definitely played hookie sometimes. Strangely, it was usually to get out of going to the gym rather than school. I guess practicing 4 hours after school most nights of the week was pretty exhausting. And the fact that we had to go to dance and then the gym every darn Saturday morning used to kill me. Sometimes I’d want to play hookie so I could just lay around and watch the Smurfs!

But back to today. I didn’t actually play hookie the whole day, but most of it. And I didn’t pretend to be sick or worse pretend there was a death in the family like the Urban Dictionary suggests (hello, bad karma!). I did some work this morning before begrudgingly going to see my dentist for a cleaning and to get a tooth fixed. Although I really do love my dentist, I was not looking forward to this. It’s been over 5 years since I’ve had any issues but last time was quite the doozie. I won’t go into the painful particulars, but let’s just say that I came out of that experience with a wicked allergy to amoxicillan and a titanium rod in my mouth. Yikes.

We are friends, except when he has sharp metal devices in my mouth.

An hour later of poking, prodding and just plain jaw tightness from holding my mouth open (and probably a good pound of sweat poured out of me during the process!), I was outta there. I had no time to waste because I was meeting up with one of my favorite people in the world: my little sis. We played hookie for a bit and I took her to lunch at Piknic. This place is so freakin’ delish. I must admit, I have a hard time stopping when I’m full at this place. We split the mediterranean plate for a starter.

This is now the second time I've started to dig in and then remembered to take the picture. I am such a piggy!

Gah! Sorry about the picture.

Then we each got a salad. I got my old stand-by while sis got something a tad more adventurous. Both were tasty.

Typical: half greek salad with grilled chicken.

Piknic Basket Salad: mango, apple, berries, candied pecans, sunflower seeds, blue cheese and grilled salmon on top. Sis says "Yum!"

The dishes were enormous so we both ended up with to-go boxes filled with tonight’s dinner.

The time with my sister is so precious and even moreso now that we live an hour away from each other. It was so luxurious when she lived up the street from me. We’d walk at least twice a week and have the best bitch sessions ever. Today was no exception and I was sad when it was time for her to leave.

The rest of the day will be spent getting ready to go to Colorado to see my s.i.l. She’s coaching a volleyball team this year and we’ll get to see her mad skills this coming weekend. Should be good times.

Today Yogi said,

May your inner self be secure and happy.

I kinda needed that today. Do you ever play hookie?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hookie, Played

  1. I used to play hookie but with the new job I must behave for a bit 😉

    I feel the same way about my sister and we live an hour away. Unfortunately when I was there Sunday she was sleeping so I didn’t even get to talk to her. She’s a night owl.

Leave a Reply

