I Don’t Always Drink Beer. But When I Do…

Oh how I wish I could say “I prefer dos equis.” But I can’t because of my undying love of stout and in particular, this beer. I have to say, though, that the person who came up with the marketing campaign for XX should win some kind of prize. Have you seen this guy?

He's the most interesting man in the world.

I’m not a big fan of commercials, but when I come across these commercials on the radio or on tv, I pause and listen. And then I get pretty darn happy. Some of my favorites:

Police often question him, just because they find him interesting.

If he were to mail a letter without postage, it would still get there.

Even his enemies list him as their emergency contact.

If he were to punch you in the face, you’d have to fight off the urge to thank him.

I could go on. I find these hilarious, clever, and pretty damn witty. Plus, this guy has some killer facial hair. You know how I love me some luxurious facial hair on a guy (well, as long as I don’t have to kiss him!). It is luxurious to say the least.

For me it’s the little things like these stupid commercials that is making me happy lately. That and the sun finally decided she’d come back from her sabbatical and grace L.A. with her presence. Thank. God. Don’t get me wrong. The weather is still freakish here–it rained last night!?! But having some repreive is nice.

I had lunch with my former co-workers this week. They are so thoughtful. Like in the past, they made a concerted effort to make me feel comfortable and they all came by to say hello and some of them even gave me a hug. This is a big deal because, as I may have mentioned before, this clinic is made up of close to 100% all Asian staff. And what I learned in the 3 years I spent with them is that personal space is important and bowing is the real way to pay someone respect and show you care.  The fact that they hugged, at least in my book, was huge. They fed me purple yam and tropical fruit and we reminisced while we ate in the lunch room. They even sent me home with this stuff:

Home grown presents: guava and thai chili peppers

I’m not sure what to do with the guava. I’m not even sure if I like guava. It’s still sitting on my window sill, waiting for me to figure it out. The peppers, on the other hand, I know quite well what to do with. The cool weather is perfect for making Tom Yum soup and wonderfully spicy stir fries. We like it hot in my household.

Since I get such a kick out of the Dos Equis man, I’ll leave you with a few more of my faves in lieu of Yogi today.

Being boring is a choice.

Those mild salsas and pleated khakis don’t buy themselves.

There is a lot we can learn from the Most Interesting Man in the World.

Stay thirsty, my friends.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I Don’t Always Drink Beer. But When I Do…

  1. I’m boring and I love it 🙂

    Dos Equis reminds me of cruising….ahhhh….

    I wish we lived closer together. We would all get along! You’ll have to move to Indiana because Cali could be exciting and like I mentioned i’m boring 😉

    • I’m boring, too 🙂 And like you, I totally embrace it!

      We would definitely all get along. I suspect there would be lots of silliness and laughing. Which I love 🙂

  2. Best. Commercials. Ever. That is all.
    As for boring, I prefer “boring” to Drama Queen. I’m not bored with myself, so if you are, you can make the choice to hike it on out of Abbytown. 😉

Leave a Reply

