When Good Pumpkins Go Bad

Poor Mr. T. He turned into a fuzzy mess almost overnight.

Furry pumpkin. Poor Mr. T!

It didn’t help that for some reason the weather goddess has determined that now would be a fab time to have hot ass, desert like weather. I’m talking in the 90s and very, very dry. Don’t get me wrong. I’m pretty darn happy for the sun to have graced us but the heat (my god, the heat!) makes it tough to sleep. I had to stop my run prematurely yesterday morning because I was so dry that I was on a fast track to heat stroke (I’m being slightly dramatic–I was starting to hallucinate though…good times).

This is what my skin felt like.

It’s hard to stay hydrated in this weather. But I don’t think I’d trade it for cold and rainy.

What I didn’t mention on my last post is that last weekend I caught the baking bug. Let me preface this by saying a few things:

1. I’m not a baker. Or a chef. More like a sous chef  in my house really.

2. I’m very particular when I cook, clean, etc. Heck, when I open presents, I neatly fold the wrapping paper. I know, I’m awesome.

3. I like to multi-task (thanks, Mom!)

So I decided that not only was I going to make cookies, but I also wanted to try a muffin recipe and then I saw a tasty corn scone recipe on lovely Eden’s blog and added that to the mix, too. When I bake, I lose my sense of preciseness (is this a word?) and become a complete kitchen tornado. I know, I know. This is the complete wrong time to not be measuring and following the recipes to the T. But it’s like I have to get it done. And quick. Here’s what the tornado ended up making:

Eden's recipe: corn and rosemary scones.

 

Mini mufins and frosted cookies.

Tangerine and thyme sugar cookies (made with whole wheat flour) with tangerine flavored icing. Apple streudal mini-muffins with pumpkin seed crumble topping. 

Sheet o' cookies.

Tangerine icing.

Amazingly, things turned out rather tasty. I ended up making some gift boxes for some friends and added a few kinds of teas to drink with the baked goods. All in all, despite my frenzied baking state, making this stuff made me feel pretty happy. And sharing it was like icing.

Yogi says:

The art of happiness is to serve all.

TGIF everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “When Good Pumpkins Go Bad

  1. my pumpkins rotted too! i can’t complain because november in oregon normally sucks and is nothing but rain… bu still!

    and i adore baking binges. i used to do them when i had papers to write 🙂

  2. Yummy! What lucky friends you must have! 😉 I’ve been in a baking mood myself so gram’s nurses have been reaping the rewards. Now it’s unseasonably warmish again this week and the bug has left me…

    However, I’m still addicted to pumpkin. Tis the season!

Leave a Reply

