Winter’s Bone

We’ve been watching a lot of movies lately because TV really isn’t doing it for us anymore. Sure, I still watch my Gossip Girl (although I’m several episodes behind at this point) and 30 Rock. But TV has started to bore me. Which, I think, is a very good thing. It frees me up to read more and to watch (potentially) good movies.

We watched Winter’s Bone this past weekend and it did not disappoint.

The movies was adapted from this book. I couldn't find a good movie picture to put up.

I’d highly recommend this movie but I gotta tell you, it isn’t really an uplifting movie. I get the impression that most (or a lot anyway) people prefer movies that are fluffier and wrap up nicer than this one. I like movies that are challenging to watch (along with movies that are fluff and silly). This one had me feeling thankful for everything that I have, because I have so much: love, support, food, warmth and in general, stuff. Too much stuff but that’s for another day.

I imagine that the book is quite good as well.

Speaking of which. I am reading this book right now.

I don’t think that it’s a coincidence that I’m reading about a man who really had nothing, but made a promise to build a school in Pakistan and busted his ass to get it done.  I think I’ve gotten to a point in my life where I’m trying to figure out what the hell am I doing here? I realize this is a huge existential issue. One that isn’t figured out and wrapped neatly into a blog post. But more and more I realize that I have so much. Yes, I’ve worked my ass off to get where I am but now what? It’s time to figure out what my role will be and how I will give back. I haven’t come up with a plan yet. When I start to think about it, I’m overwhelmed with the amount of people who need some kind of help. That’s a terrible excuse, I know.

It’s apropos that Yogi said,

It’s important to find your identity and your legacy.

I’ve done a lot of work on the identity and while I’m still not solid, it’s time to start work on my legacy. I didn’t really mean for this post to go in this direction (I mean, who the hell wants to read this anyway? It’s not fun or uplifting but rather confusing and tons of other stuff). I actually meant to whine about the weather. It’s gotten damn cold here at night and my house is once again an icebox. I’ve busted out all 3 of the space heaters and still have to be layered to all hell but it’s winter. And at least I have a roof, food and an endless supply of hot tea. And of course, a whole lot more than that. I am so thankful.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

