Tastes of Love: A Recap

I can’t believe how fast time flies. Anyone else feel like Thanksgiving was here and gone in an instant? I’m so thankful for having such wonderful “in-law” sibs. They are the best.

On Wednesday afternoon, I got the house ready.

Flowers and fruit.

Produce lined up on the sil.

Then decided to bake half batches of some cookies for the sibs to nibble on when they got here. Bonus: the house smelled delicious.

Nude tangerine-thyme sugar cookies waiting to get frosted.

Trail mix cookies.

Trail mix cookie: oats, dried cranberries, chocolate chips, yogurt chips. Oh my!

My b.i.l. landed first on Wednesday evening so we went and picked him up. Poor s.i.l. Her flight was delayed by a couple of hours. She seems to get screwed by the Eagle airport every single trip. We are so done with that airport.

When both sibs were finally here, we commenced fun holiday times. First up: dinner.

A prelude to Thanksgiving: Korean BBQ with wagyu, toro, tofu and bibimbap.

This is by far one of my favorite dinners at the moment. Bibimbap is tasty and kinda feels like you are making some kind of art project while you are cooking.

“Turkey” Day was beautiful outside. I didn’t want to come home from my run it was so sunny and warm out. Before I knew it, it was time to start cooking dinner. Instead of the traditional fill-yourself-silly-with-turkey-and-obscene amounts-of-potatoes-and-bread products, we went with a twist on the typical: bites of things that hubs and I love to make.

Tiny Tastes of Love

Spicy Popcorn appetizer

 

Chimichurri spiced popcorn appetizer.

Brussels Sprouts with Shallots 

Brussels sprouts getting ready for the oven.

Gazpacho with Sprouted Pumpkin Seeds 

Cups lined up waiting to be filled with gazpacho.

 

All prepped and ready to go.

Grilled Buffalo Filet with Grilled Veggies

Fava Beans with Prosciutto and Chorizo

Truffled Grilled Cheese Bites (with and without proscuitto)     

 Oven Fries with Garlic, Parm and Truffle oil/salt

The table.

All of the components.

 Cheese Plate with Truffle and Triple Creme Cheeses, Apple Slices, Grapes and Chocolate        

Dessert cheese plate.

In keeping with the small bites theme, we didn’t eat that whole cheese plate. All in all, it was just the right amount. We lingered at the table talking and laughing for a good 2 hours. And no one was stuffed and trying to unbutton pants. Hooray! 

Hubs and I came up with this meal a couple of weeks ago and (being the incredibly anal people that we are) planned out the prep and the plating ahead of time. Everyone helped and there was no fighting, no hassles. Just good times. And good tastes of the foods we love.

We’re already gearing up for Christmas. The whole fam (both sides) is coming out for one last L.A. holiday. I’m trying to figure out how to make it special.

What Christmas/holiday traditions are you looking forward to?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Tastes of Love: A Recap

  1. SIL

    It was definitely one for the books. Thanks for making Thanksgiving one of my favorite times of the year! Your goodie bag got me through my flights by the way. Looking forward to Christmas!

  2. Yay! I’m glad you had a good time. I wish it didn’t go by so fast but Christmas should be great.

  3. Does that mean next year you’ll be celebrating a white Christmas in the freezing mitten? Yay!

    Your meal looks so fun and festive, and the company looks preferable to cranky old bodily-functional uncles or screaming cousins (neither of which I had to deal with, by the way.) This holiday season will be different, but I’m looking forward to relax and restoration a bit. This might mean I’m by myself a lot, but I’m determined to make it work 😉

    • Relaxation and restoration is a wonderful gift to give yourself. I know you’ll make it work 🙂

      And alone time is great. Personally, I love my alone time as I get run down quite easily.

Leave a Reply

