Good On Ya

Why is it the week before a big trip always seems to turn into a major cluster? Maybe it’s just me, but good god almighty what a long ass week this was! But, I get by during these weeks because I am also the queen of waiting for things. It was a necessity to become this way. I had to wait for 12 years to start my career so I got pretty good at compartmentalizing things and tagging them for “later.”

When “later” became now it was quite strange. The idea that I could do whatever I wanted on weekends without having to study (unless I wanted to…ah, always the dork) or work for 30+ hours in a row seemed strange and unreal. It actually took some time for me to figure out how to spend free-time without feeling restless. I’m mostly rehabilitated from that previous way of life (thank god). But when I have those weeks when everything goes to hell in a hand basket, I revert back to that other, more “wait for it“, person. I’m glad to say that Monday we leave for Australia.

The idea of not having phone service for 10 days makes me do a silly little dance (in the kitchen) and smile like a jackass. I know we could get cell phone service if we really wanted to but I do not. I am ready to unplug and unwind.

I’m also ready to hit this up:

Bring on the tennis! We have tickets to see quarterfinal matches and the women’s semis. We also decided to pay a little extra to be VIP ticket holders. Besides being able to order our tickets earlier than non-VIPs, I’m not sure what else this gets you. I’m not sure that I care. We wanted to get seats that would have some shade as hubs’ Scottish heritage skin and my Swedish intense skin don’t do well in the sun for hours on end. I’m talking with sunscreen people. I can become quite the lobster in what seems like minutes.

Yowza!

I’m hoping to find some cute hat to wear while we’re there but I’m not holding my breath. I’m not much of a hat person.

We’re taking one quick side trip. Surprise, surprise: it’s to go eat. We saw this place on a No Reservations episode and if it’s good enough for Tony, it’s good enough for us. One review calls it a culinary pilgrimage. We can only hope…

Melbourne, Australia: 10 days, one rented apartment, 5 days at the Slam, 2 days on a pilgrimage. Good on ya!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Good On Ya

  1. Austrailia?!? I’m so jealous! I would love to travel there one day. I bet you will enjoy that hotel if Anthony stayed there. I looove me some Mr. Bourdain. Have a wonderful time on your trip and good luck finding a cute hat! 🙂

  2. How awesome! I hope the floods are gone then 🙂

  3. I am SO jealous of your tennis trip! I heart Nadal and would stalk him if I was within 100 yards of him, so maybe it’s a good thing that you decided not to bring me along.

    Have SOOOO much fun and live it up, sister!

  4. Hope your havin fun! Wish I was out traveling right about now. My husband and I could be nomads if it weren’t for having a kiddo in school!

Leave a Reply

