When Life Gives You Lemons

So this morning I FINALLY got my enormous post detailing our 10 course meal in Australia finished and ready to go. As I was spell-checking and bolding some things, WordPress effed me. Somehow almost all of it was gone. Vanished. Kaput. I don’t need to tell you that I spiraled into a rage and spewed like a dirty sailor.

Deep breath.

So I decided that I’m not in the right frame of mind to re-tackle that endeavor just now but realized that I’ve got some other vacay stuff to put up. I’m hoping this helps take away that acid lemon-like taste lingering in my mouth. Here goes:

Dragon graffiti in process.

This was a pretty sweet dragon in process on the wall across the street from our hotel. The hotel room itself was kinda like a studio apartment.

Our little kitchenette with enough stuff to cook some basics.

We even had a washer/dryer in our little apartment!

The view from our apartment.

In addition to the massive amounts of tennis we watched, we took a walk-about in the Botanical Garden.

Botanical garden. Just beautiful.

We also ate some really delicious food. One place in particular was spot on–once we found the restaurant. It was situated in a basement and the door had a piece of paper on it with the name of the restaurant. We didn’t have a reservation and got there just as they were opening their door for service and got lucky to get a whole table to ourselves.

Place settings were beautiful.

I took some furtive pictures before I got caught. That’s right. I got caught and was admonished. I was politely asked to stop taking photos. But not before I got these:

Kimchi

Octopus salad

 

SashimiYellowtail collar and mushroomSake

 

Yellowtail collar and mushroom

I seem to be wearing this shirt in way too many photos recently...

 

Sake

Unpictured: wagyu beef and some sticky tofu rice balls. Hara hachi bui!

I promise to re-create my post detailing my mind blowing meal at Royal Mail hotel soon.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “When Life Gives You Lemons

  1. I hate when my posts or (long) comment gets deleted somehow, HATE it. I’d rate that about a 9 on the ‘omg i’m going to kill somebody’ scale.

    What a pretty hotel room! I would have SO taken advantage of that washer/dryer. It would have made coming home not so dreadful knowing I don’t have HOURS of washing/folding/sorting to do.

    I know what you mean about your shirt! (which is really cute btw) I’m the same way clothes I like and wear them ALL the time. But hey, if it ain’t broke…

    🙂

    • We totally made good use of the washer/dryer as we travel really light: one carry-on each and a personal bag. We haven’t checked bags for almost a decade I think. Crazy to think about! We are control freaks like that…

  2. I’m with Ashley–I harbor violent tendencies when I lose a post or comment. I’m a freak about copying it just in case, but sometimes I forget. Then I freak out.
    Anyway, the octopus salad is super creepy, but the botanical garden more than makes up for it. I LOVE botanical gardens and that looks like the Garden of Eden to me (minus the snake and the sin.)
    And yes, cute ass shirt. If I wore it like you do, I would wear it every day.

    • It had been such a long time since WordPress screwed me that I became less vigilant about saving my doc. What a pain!

      You would have absolutely loved the Botanical Garden there 🙂

      I may have to make a crusade to change your mind about octopus. It really is SO good!

Leave a Reply

