Bits and Pieces

I can’t say that I watched more than about 15 minutes of the Academy Awards (and 10 of those minutes were spent watching the opening bit which was kinda clever). I don’t know how these people do it. Having to sit through an awards show would be the bane of my existence. No, actually, there’s something worse: having to talk with the press after winning an award would be. We watched a few minutes of Natalie Portman talking with the media post-Oscar and it was simply brutal. “Are you going to name your son Oscar?” Case in point. Someone really asked that question.

I’m not a big fan of the blockbuster movies that typically win the awards anyway. I will always be more interested in those films that provoke me in some way–good or bad. In that spirit, I have to recommend this movie. We finally saw it this weekend and I think it’s absolutely brilliant.

Fascinating. Disturbing. Riveting.

I don’t want to say too much about it because I’d hate to spoil it. Half the fun for me was trying to figure out what the hell was going on. I may even watch it again now that I sort of understand…and yes: I’m totally aware that I’m a dork. It’s cool, though (read: I’m used to it). I guess I’ll never grow out of my English major mode.

Wonderful segue.

Hubs is a crazy reader. I love to read, too, but he is lightning fast and burns through books faster than I can count. He typically knows what stuff I like and will recommend books for me. There is a stack (quickly growing mind you) of books with my name on them ready for me when I’m done putt-putting through the last Larsson book.

I’m glad I took his advice and read this short story last night from the Oleander Review (yes, this is the “undergraduate-run literary mag at the University of Michigan–Go Blue!). Seriously, Stealing Susan by Matt Bell is fantastic. It made me want to give away all of my stuff. Now that we are going to move, I’m finding that we have way too much stuff. I can’t believe how much crap accumulates in small spaces of time. But it does. Getting rid of stuff is so cathartic that it makes me wonder why I don’t do it more often. Maybe it wouldn’t have the same punch?

Is spring cleaning cathartic for you? What are a couple of things that you’d never give away/get rid of?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bits and Pieces

  1. Go Blue! I’ve never heard of that book, so I’ll have to check it out online and see what all the hype’s about.
    As for cleaning, it will come as no shock to you that I love it. It’s my stress release when I can’t exercise (shouldn’t, can’t–whatever.) I love to de-clutter and end up getting rid of things I might actually need later, but I figure if I don’t use them now, they’re not that important.
    And when I moved, I moved with minimal things. I was able to keep some stuff at my mom’s, but I wanted to start fresh and I LOVE it. I don’t need a lot and clutter stresses me out. Yay for cleaning!

  2. I read about Dogtooth-it sounds crazy! I kinda want to see it, but I have a feeling it’ll be near impossible to talk my husband into…

  3. Oh I’m the same about cleaning. I LOVE cleaning out junk. It definitely feels theraputic to me. The more stuff I can throw out, the better I feel. I’m always restless, so I guess that has something to do with it. I take after my grandmother with her ‘nervous energy’ she had.

    My husband and son benefit GREATLY from this. They don’t realize how lucky they are…

Leave a Reply

