Impromptu

As you might remember, I’m not the most spontaneous person on the planet. In fact, I prefer to know my schedule as precisely as possible, including what I’ll be making and eating for dinner. Taco Tuesdays anyone?

So my anxiety goes out of control when I have to try to come up with a dinner idea on the fly. Usually the dance about dinner goes something like this with me and Hubs:

Me: We could have polenta with asparagus and a poached egg? Him: Uh-huh. We could have eggs Bernedo with spicy green beans and tortillas? Hm. We could have….uh…soup and grilled cheese? [Silence]

I start getting frustrated and slightly agitated and begin to rummage around in the pantry.

We have Israeli couscous in there. [Hubs looks at me with a thoughtful expression.] Yes, this might work. We could have Greek style Israeli couscous with some kind of protein? What protein? Ummmm…chicken? Or fish? Swordfish? Hubs looks at me and says, What about tofu? Perfect!

So we end up with a dish that looks like this:

Pretty tasty.

Voila! Israeli couscous with tofu, olives, kale, onion, feta, cukes, heirloom tomato, parsley, dill, lemon zest and juice, salt, pepper and olive oil.

Per hubs: "restaurant quality." I blush...

The verdict? Muck like Mikey…He likes it! He really likes it!

Remember this commercial? If you do, hooray! I'm not the only one.

Actually, it was pretty darn tasty and I’m sure we’ll be making it again. Easy and delicious= new week-night dinner.

Does anyone else go through this kind of dinner dance or do you just kind of know what you’re going to make?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Impromptu

  1. I love when I get the “it’s better than the restaurant” comments from Mike 🙂

    Of course I remember that commercial!

  2. Haaa! Crap, that seems to be the story of my life with my husband. It’s the SAME song and dance EVERY time. (At least you can make a recipe on the fly. If it isn’t written down step by step with precise measurements and instructions…I’ll inevitably fail.)

    And then get us in the car and its the same type song/dance…
    him-where do you want to go?
    me- i dono, where do YOU want to go?
    him- i dono, i was asking you. what do you feel like eating?
    me-i have no idea. what about you?

    Then we both finally start naming off places and neither one of us want any of them….haha!

    • Good lord! We are TRULY living parallel lives. I’m betting that we end up meeting at some point 🙂

      • I know and the latest on Bobby Pin’s post on 3/8!? (Sorry, don’t know how open you are about all that on here) AND the bmw’s!? Whoa, we are just so much alike!! hehe

        How is the house selling going?? Pitts better be doing his job.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    I know this kind of cooking confusion, so I usually end up throwing some things together in that style I do every day (stir fry). Nothing special, but healthy and tasty. 🙂

  4. i think im a bit of a foodbin too… i cannot stop eating today!

Leave a Reply

