It’s Not Greek to Me

It’s no secret around my house that I love Greek food. More specifically, put a Greek salad in front of my face and I am one happy (and quiet–too busy munching) gal. If you looked in our pantry, you’d find multiple jars of kalamata olives from TJ’s just waiting for the next salad. Ditto with the banana peppers. Moving along to the fridge you’d find open bottles of the aforementioned along with several squares of feta cheese, patiently waiting their turn. I could go on but I’ll spare you some of the boredom.

Since it’s gotten a bit warmer here, I’ve been craving Greek salads pretty much all the time (except breakfast which tends to be greek yogurt). Hell, I even made a greek salad and threw in some quinoa for good measure.

Quinoa greek salad with big slice of nature's butter.

Hey! How did that avocado get in the picture? That’s not Greek. Sue me. With avocado, I do not care. I could put it on just about anything (ok, almost everything).

This was after a few tries of Greek salad with Israeli couscous.

Pretty tasty.

 Who would put tofu in such a salad? I would. And it was delicious.

Lately when I meet friends for lunch, I can’t help but order the Greek salad. Even though I went to meet my friend Katie at Piknic with the best intentions of ordering something different, I couldn’t seem to help myself.

Shocking. I never order greek salads.

I’ll be honest: it did not disappoint. It was the size of a small child and I put that whole bitch in my belly.

I’m sure I’ll move on from this seemingly perpetual Greek food craving at some point. Although I’ve been making a lot of hummus and eating a crap ton of yogurt, I’m sure it’ll get old sometime, right? I’m comforted by the fact that there was a time in the not too distant past in which I could not eat enough Asian.  You may remember the culmination of that craving: a weeklong Asian fest at the FB house.

Anyone else out there smitten with yummy Greek food?

Surely you must at lease love flaming cheese?

Opa!

Opa!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s Not Greek to Me

  1. I would very much like a gyro now, thank you very much 🙂

  2. I love ANY flaming food. Cheese, cherries, anything you can flambe! (Can that be a verb?) I usually don’t get that excited about Greek salads, but yours with the Israeli couscous and tofu looks DELICIOUS.

  3. I LOVE greek food!!!! It’s my fave mmmm….warm pitas and feta cheese 🙂

Leave a Reply

