Lost and Found

Sadly, we are back from Hawaii. Maui is my paradise and I always miss it the moment we turn in the rental car and head back to the airport to fly home. It all started with our honeymoon, now almost 11 years ago. Friends told us how wonderful Wailea, Maui is and they were right. We’ve been back at least once every year since (I’m a pig so we’ve been twice in one year in the past) and it never gets old.

We even have an unspoken sched:

Wake up and have some breakfast. Then it’s either tennis or I go for a run. After exercising, we slather on a load of spf 50 and go out to the pool with books. We roast and read for an hour or two, take a dip and then head in for lunch. After lunch there is usually some kind of sport on TV that we’ll watch (this year we got to watch Red Wings which was awesome until they lost the series). When it’s close to 4pm, we’ll slather a little bit of sunscreen on and head out for round two of reading at the pool. Sometimes we’ll go for a walk at the beach before dinner but mostly we swim then get dinner started. Dinner is usually some kind of bbq eaten on the lanai while watching the sun sink into the ocean. Dinner is also always eaten with a bottle of wine. While we clean up dishes after dinner, in our tipsy state, we’ll play songs that reminds of us different things and dance around the condo like clowns. And just like little kids, after all the playing all day long, we are tired and watch a movie or some tv and call it a day.

But about 2 years ago, something strange happened while we  were there: I lost my running mojo. It happened in what felt like an instant. It was like I didn’t know why I was running and the absolute joy I always found in it had evaporated. For the last 2 years I’ve tried to get it back to no avail. But this time, on my first run of the vacation some kind of switch flipped back on. It was such a relief. Joy! Exhileration! I felt like a kid again. I finally got my running mojo back.

I found my mojo!!

I’ll admit, I was hesitant to re-embrace it for fear that it would vanish again. But after a second great run, I felt ok to say it out loud to hubs. I’m not usually that superstitious, but hey, it’s never to late to start, right?

Besides the jubilation of the return of my mojo, I burned through a couple of books:

The Unnamed, by Joshua Ferris

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, by Amy Chua

Help Me, Jacques Cousteau, by Gil Adamson

The Family Man, by Elinor Lipman

I can highly recommend all of these books. This is not typical for me to really enjoy each book I brought. But a welcome joy. 

We also watched the second Mesrine movie. It was just ok. Definitely not as great as the first. But in general I’m a total sucker for gangster-type movies. This is based on a true story and that always blows my mind.

I love me some gangsta movies.

Now that we’re back, it’s time to hunker down and get on with this move. The next three weeks will fly by. Bring it on.

Any advice for my upcoming cross country move back home?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Lost and Found

  1. Oh wow, that trip sounds just…amazing! Your daily schedule sounds juuust right–lots of reading and relaxing, and wine! And I love that you have such a tradition of taking that vacation, makes it even more special!

  2. Considering I haven’t been on vacation in more than a dozen years, yes, I hate you a little bit. However, I’ll get over it 😉

    As for your move, bring the bug spray. Kidding aside, the only thing I can say is don’t compare it to what you have now where you are. Look at it as a brand new adventure with it’s own benefits and highlights. If you try and compare it to sunny California with all the great stuff you have there, you’ll just be bummed. Michigan is great–especially when cool people are just a couple hours away. 😉

  3. I have an idea – put me in your suitcase next time. I’ve never been to Hawaii, but I’d love to. I would make a good maid – clean up service, cooking, etc. You’d hardly ever know I was there 🙂

  4. I’m glad you got your mojo back! I used to overdo on running and started hating it, but now I have started really enjoying it again. 🙂 You just need to switch it up a bit from time to time.

Leave a Reply

