Top Shot

I may not have mentioned much about this before but it’s about time. Before we moved to Traverse City and during my job negotiations with  my now employer, N and I found and purchased some land here. It’s possible I didn’t mention it because with everything else going on with the move across the country it just wasn’t in the forefront of my mind.

But it’s on my mind just about daily now. No, that’s a lie. It’s not quite on my mind every second, but it’s close to being constant. In an act of pure coincidence, N and I found a home to rent that backs up to our property and our evolving  home-site. Spoiler alert! We are  insane. With the use of something we’re calling a “thrasher” (sounds cool, right?), a saw and rake and a ton of time, N has created a hiking trail that takes us from the rental’s backyard straight up to our property and the trail that leads to our future home. We hike to see the progress on the house just about daily (and N sometimes more than once). Or sometimes we’ll take the ipod, a bottle of wine, a flashlight and 2 small beach chairs and plop down on one of the dirt piles and watch the sunset (which is spectacular).  We haven’t turned into complete hicks just yet but you may change your mind after this next bit.

A couple of weeks ago, I came home from work to find N clammering about the arrival of his non-toxic bullets (they make those?) and his new target and target stand. He put it all in a carrying case, grabbed his locked gun case and asked if I wanted to hike over to the property. Cue the theme music from The Beverly Hillbillies.

We got to the homesite and there’s this flat spot of land with a large dirt pile down a ways from where our home is being built and it was just begging for N to set up his gear and fire away. I found a spot in the shade and put in my ear plugs and waited for the inevitable pop-pop-pop of the Mule (you cannot be surprised that the gun has a name, right?). N has turned into quite the marksman. Me on the other hand? I’ve largely abstained from shooting a gun after I shot the PVC piping in a gun range on my very first shot. One and out.

The Mule would have an Eastern European accent if it could speak.

He’s not Top Shot calliber just yet but a girl can dream. I mean, have you seen this show? Remember this guy?

It's Colby from Survivor!

Colby is simply awesome on this show. I wasn’t a big fan when he was on Survivor. But, as the host of Top Shot, he gets to say the name of the show like a million times. And it’s not simply, “Top Shot.” Oh no. It’s “Tiooop Sheeeeahhht.” How the man manages to stretch out the name more and more as the season progresses is beyond me. And my favorite part has to be when he talks about the winner of the elimation challenge receiving their $2,000 gift card to “Baaaass Pro Shops.” Fan-freakin-tastic.

Back to work on the bazillion things we need to pick out for our house. We just finished the electical stuff and we’re starting to plow into plumbing. My cue to sign off? N asking, “why would they make a round one piece toilet?” They call it the Top Hat. Or, as N has dubbed it, the Top Shat. I wonder how Colby would pronounce it?

For those times when you wish you could go in an outhouse.

And that, my friends, is the best insight into my life that I could probably ever share….

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Top Shot

  1. whoa, you’re gonna be busy now! Moving into a completely new house is not an easy thing, but it can still be tons of fun. I hope you show us the finished product! 🙂

  2. I remember playing in those awesome construction dirt piles when my parents’ house went up way back when…I think evolving into drinking wine and watching sunsets on them is a good way to go (because they’re too much fun to grow out of completely, that’s for sure).

    And thanks for your comment on my bff post, glad your hubs is yours! Makes for more adventure-finding fun 🙂

  3. Call me crazy but that all sounds like fun…love the Beverly Hillbillies reference 🙂

  4. Yay for Michigan hillbillies!
    I can’t wait to come up and see the finished product. Not the toilets so much, although those will be appreciated, but the house in general…

Leave a Reply

