We Are Family

Last Friday morning we scrambled around the house making sure we had everything for an overnight trip. Work was quick (thankfully) and around 4:30pm we were off to the wonderful city of Flint. I think Flint used to be a pretty nice place to live. That was probably a long time ago at this point, however. We weren’t going there for a vacay, though. We were on a mission to see family.

We met N’s parents at Lucky’s Steakhouse for dinner and attempted a mini carb load. I don’t usually eat much bread but they have these enormous breadsticks that are just fantastic. A hunk of that, some baked sweet potato and an enormous salad later, I was good to go. My mother-in-law had arranged for a family member to pick up our race packets so we were all set.

The alarm clock was set for some god-awful time and my Ambien started to work. It was going to be a rude awakening for a Saturday morning but I’d be damned if I wasn’t going to sleep on top of it. I was surprisingly awake in the morning and we met N’s family members and we headed over to the start of the race.

The Crim has been going on for 3+ decades and this year they were bursting at the seams with people. The 10 mile race started around 8am and the guys went to breakfast after we took off. The course was mostly quick and we were done before I knew it. I was pleasantly surprised when I received my finisher’s medal, as I didn’t realize we’d even get a medal. It’s been way too long since I’ve gotten one of those suckers.

Post-race pic

We got cleaned up, checked out of the hotel and went over to N’s Aunt’s house for a cookout. His family was relaxed and fun to be around. Everyone pitched in and lunch was set to go quickly: hamburgers, turkey burgers, baked beans, potato salad, asian-inspired cabbage slaw, and freshly picked tomatoes and cukes made up the spread. Then came out the desserts: chocolately cheesecake, homemade trifle and decadent brownies. It was so hard to choose that I took some brownie and trifle. Me and cheesecake haven’t gotten along in over a decade so no temptation there. We ate and talked and laughed. This is one of the reasons we moved back to Michigan. It feels good to be part of a family sometimes.

On our way home, we stopped to see N’s Oma in Frankenmuth. I hadn’t seen her in ages. She was so happy to see us.  After a brief visit during which my father-in-law played barista to the other 7 ladies sitting out on the patio, we finally jumped in our car and headed home. A jammed-packed 24 hours but so worth the semi-craziness.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “We Are Family

  1. What does “oma” mean? I’m wondering if it means “mother” as we say it in Korean? Sounds like an event-filled week for you…and so many yummy goodies!!

  2. “Oma” means Grandma in German. I didn’t know that it was mother in Korean. This is dorky but isn’t language fascinating? Do you call dad “Opa” (German for grandpa)?

  3. What a fun 24 hours! I think I’ve only ever driven through Flint, and well, it doesn’t have the best reputation. However, it looks like things have changed and at the least, one great family lives there 😉

    Very cool post. Fun times!

Leave a Reply

