Daily Archives: June 13, 2010

The Sweater Song

I used to love this song. It came to my mind recently… 

If you want to destroy my sweater. Woah woah a woah.
{Hold/Pull} this thread as I walk away. As I walk away!
Watch me unravel, I’ll soon be naked.
Lying on the floor, Lying on the floor! I’ve come undone.
(Weezer)
 

So I had this black Banana Republic cardigan that I’m pretty sure I’ve had since the end of college…yes, prior to the year 2000. This was back when Banana’s clothes were made particularly well (ah, the good old days–you might know what I’m talking about). And this was my go-to cardigan. I am nearly ALWAYS cold so it’s vital I have a good layering system. Throughout the years I’ve dabbled with other black cardigans but always came back to this one. 

Until this happened. 

My favorite sweater is now holier than thou

 

Well, actually, I don’t know when this happened (?dry cleaners?) but I didn’t figure it out until I was halfway through the work day last Thursday and lo and behold I was too hot to have the cardigan on. Stranger things have happened but not usually this. As I was draping it across the back of my chair I noticed the holes. Totally mortified. That was my first response. And then, really sad. This cardigan’s been with me through so many things…I still haven’t had the heart to throw it out but I’ve been moving it closer and closer to the garbage can. I’m going to have to cut the cord and pitch it. I’m a total freak sometimes (or truthfully, most of the time). Why is it so hard to find a good black cardigan anyway?! 

Enough lamenting! 

It’s finally summertime and my salad craving is just beginning again. I used to eat massive salads just about every day but this winter something changed, or maybe I was tired of them, but I shifted to warmer foods. I’m looking forward to trying out some salads with fresh veggies from our garden now that the weather is getting warmer. 

Crab-tastic corn and sech salad 

Salad base can be whatever you have. We had: romaine, homegrown sprouts, raw corn, feta, avocado, onion and capers. 

Salad with corn, avocado, onion, romaine and homemade sprouts

 

Also had some shiitakes so I sauteed them in a little sherry and put those down first. 

Shiitake mushrooms sauteed in sherry and evoo

 

 While I was sauteeing, hubs was steaming some fresh fava beans that were randomly in the fridge. 

Fava beans for the salad

 

Tossed the salad in a dressing the hubs made (citrus vinegar from TJ’s, dijon mustard, evoo, salt and pepper) and put it over the shrooms. 

Topped it all off with jumbo lump crab meat (we used about 4 oz.) 

Jumbo lumb crab

 

Our side dish was our tried and true oven fries with truffle oil and salt, parm, garlic and a mix of fresh tarragon and parsley. Of course I had my obligatory mustard–this time a trio of mustards including a new one with truffle in it. I can’t help it, I gotta dip. 

Summer crab salad and oven sweet potato fries

 

This is one of my favorite dinners lately. The flavors are intense but the meal is actually pretty light. Try it!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized